Monday, April 27, 2009

3 New National Scenic Trails!

As part of the Omnibus Land Act that Obama Signed a few weeks ago, there are now three new official National Scenic Trails that will get the same designation and protection as the Appalachian, Pacific Crest, and Continental Divide Trails. There have not been any new National Scenic Trails since 1983.

The New Trails:

The Arizona National Scenic Trail (807 Miles)
The Pacific Northwest National Scenic Trail (1200 Miles)
The New England National Scenic Trail (220 Miles)

Way to go Obama!



Jeremiah said...

This is about the only thing I like about democrats...they usually stand up for the enviroment.

Are these trails already in use or will they have to be created? Will have to check them out!

Lakewood said...

Hey Shep,

The Pacific Northwest and Arizona Trails have both been around for a while and are more or less completed. The new england trail is a "proposed" trail and will probably take years to complete.

I still think they need to designate Vermont's Long Trail and the Colorado Trail as NSTs.